50 Shades of Red – The Beginning

Here is another article from my good friend Steve, charting the progress of his foray into Khador. I’d just like to point out however that this post is a little late in being published as I suck!

I hope you enjoy it none the less. – Khadorred

Hi again!

I’d like to start off by praising The Wargame Store for getting my first couple bits to me promptly, and well packaged!

I have decided, while day dreaming on my way back from a friend’s house, to call my painting shenanigans ’50 Shades of Red’. So while I feel witty for the next few hours and before I wake up and debate if it wasn’t the best name I could of came out with to let the show roll on regardless!

After a few hours of fiddling with a couple Doom Reaver Fellblades and the unnecessary decorative skulls that go on eButcher’s axe ‘Lola’ (curse their tiny eye sockets), I finally managed to glue them, and myself a few times, together and get them primed.

Here are the results…

The Butcher and his pals.

The Halfords red primer was actually quite nice, its a more appealing canvas to work on than black, which I find a little intimidating to be honest.

One thing is stopping me from ordering proper paints however, and its something I feel we all (those of us who are indecisive like myself) tend to agonize over when starting a new faction: paint scheme. My current thoughts are with either…

  • White armour and red cloth for the infantry & red Warjacks with white as a secondary colour
  • Black armour and red cloth for the infantry & red Warjacks with black as a secondary colour

Having seen an image of pSorcha with black armour and red cloth, she looks very smart, which may be swaying my thoughts.

Paint wise, I’ve decided to expand my pallete from exclusively Privateer Press’ P3, to both P3 and Vallejo Model Colours. I’ve read that Model Colour is a little more muted (think WW2 historicals), so I’m not 100% whether I should use the more cartoony Game Colours, again from Vallejo, but thats just minor details in the long run and nothing a good wash can’t fix. Right?!? I think which brand I use will be important though. I need to figure out who makes the better light colours, and who makes the better dark colours. Having worked with Menoth White Highlight (P3), I’d assume Morrow White (P3) would also be exemplary when it comes to coverage, but from past experience paints can be a little funny even with slightly different variations in hue.

Let me know your thoughts though. Have you had any experience with schemes similar to those above? Is there a particular paint line you can recommend?

Thats all for now.

Steve

    • Neal
    • January 4th, 2013

    d’you know that Coat d’arms and p3 are (most likely) made of the same stuff. CdA are £2 per pot P3 around £2.50. Maybe worth thinking about.

    I like the idea of priming the base colour of models, I may just have to look into that. What puts me off, is the thickness of the primer. Does it not just fill in all the lovely details on those tasty models?

  1. Most all paints are made from the same stuff, though what’s different is that rather than adding the pigment later, p3 uses liquid pigment, for that smooth coverage.

    It’s worth noting that this post went through bit of a time warp (to the point I forgot I put it up for approval), and I’ve actually got tan Khador on the cards!

    The thickness of the halfords stuff I admit was not something I considered, but I tend to hold the can 2 miles away from the models, so my usual bad-habit of relying on ink/wash to pick out the shading bits should still serve me well :3

  2. I highly suggest trying to use all your metals with Vallejo Model Air. The metallics are just super smooth and model air is airbrush friendly as well straight out the bottle.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

