I’m back… again

So, blogging, that’s a thing right?

Well it’s been a long time since I’ve written a post but I think now is as good a time as any to give it another whirl…

First up I aim to keep this post fairly short and sweet. That said it might get a bit rambley (if that’s even a word.) I will apologise now for what may be some low quality writing!

So, what have I been up to since I last posted something? I hear you all ask! I am now a member of the Press Gang, Privateer Press’ official volunteering team. This means that I will become more involved in running some of the events that make UK Hordes and Warmachine the thriving scene that it is. Further to this it may also actually inspire me to start running some more events myself! Who know’s we may even see the return of the Pre-Masters Mash Up…

Towards the start of the year I was able to attend a few events, but that dropped off as the year went on. Since then I have been doing a little bit of painting, more on that later, but all in all I haven’t been up to too much.

Well I guess I should really get on to the meat of this post then.

One of the more noteworthy events I took part in was Smogcon in February. Smogcon is the first American style event to be held this side of the pond. It is a weekend of gaming, both casual and competitive, as well as some painting seminars and the Golden Thrall painting competition. The event started in 2012, being held at Firestorm Games in Cardiff. I didn’t get chance to attend the first time round but after having been once I will make sure that I do all I can to attend each year.

2014 promises to be bigger and better than ever. The location has changed and will now be taking place primarily in the Mandolay Hotel, Guilford. Demand however has exceeded the capacity of the original venue and now part of the con will take place in an adjacent hotel! Originally Smogcon was purely Warmachine and Hordes, this year though it is branching out to contain Malifaux, Bushido & Dropzone Commander as main systems aswell as several other smaller board and card games.

I will be attending again next year and will hopefully get a few models into the Golden Thrall. On the gaming side I have entered into a Warmachine and a Bushido tournament and aim to get in some casual gaming in both systems.

I will hopefully find some time between playing some games, building and painting models to write a post or two with an update on my progress, however I’m not promising anything!

Thanks for taking a look…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

